Plunge Taken

maj_hassel

Well, after spending a few days trimming, painting and assembling my newly delivered A-Props helmet I had let it sit in its pristine state for one entire day...then came the dirt!

I haven't even trimmed the flash off of the rest of the armor and here I am, griming up my bucket. Oh well.

Anyway here's a pic of the first "mud" application. It's about 80% done, I still need to touch up some annoying clean spots. Apart from this, the general spatter pattern is complete.

This is my first attempt at going dirty so please feel free to critique.

Posted Image

Good job, you may want to buff the dirt off of some of the high spots, it helps to accentuate the build-up in the lines.

I'm assuming you're talking about the eye ridges. I was thinking that too. I also might tidy up (funny choice of words) the area at the top of the nose bridge, something's just not quite right.

Back to the muddying boards for me!

Good job, you may want to buff the dirt off of some of the high spots, it helps to accentuate the build-up in the lines. Thumbs Up

I think it depends on the weather pattern you want. Having the splotch on the helmet peak and nose bridge gives it a more "I just got blasted recently" which can look better than the "I've just been ignoring my armor" look.

What kind of look are you going for?

What kind of look are you going for?

I'm pretty much going for the "I'm a lowly private (black pauldron) so I get all the s--t jobs" look.

I might put a small blaster mark (a.k.a. carbon scoring, a.k.a. black paint) somewhere on the armor. A hit between the eyes would be too embarassing--even for a private.

So to answer your question I'm basically applying what I like to call "utility grime."

The shiny parts are still slightly annoying. I was pondering hitting certain areas with some artist's matte fix. This might protect the paint job from unforecast rain as well. Any opinions or insight on this?