TD - Work In progress - Update 8/30

Darth_Nickel

I've started work on my TD and thought I would keep a running progress thread.

I've been working on the bucket first. It's a FX converted to a stunt. Not weathered yet, but will be soon. I've started on the detached parts for the weathering (see below)

I decided to try and put it together a little differnetly. I never liked the FX seams, so that's what I worked on first.

I know it's a FX bucket, but I'm a bondo rookie, and thought it would be good practice for future projects that I have.

Please ignore the frown paint, I just used it as a reference for the frown as I worked.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

no flash

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

After getting some initial paint on the bucket, I started working on the chin.

I was planning on using this as a base to the weathering (toothpaste this then put another coat of black on) but I'm not sure... I can't decide if I like it this way or not. I'm leaning toward too much, but then... can there really be too much???

Let me know what you think.

Posted Image

Posted Image

I learned from the best.... so I had nothing to loose.

I also work in acrylic paint for fun, so I don't mind taking a chance. I have to admit, it's a blast weathering. I can't wait to get the rest of the base paint on the bucket so I can complete the detail and weathering. Hurry up UPS....

• 2 weeks later...

yep. Working on that now. I'm running into a little issue... remember this is an FX that's pretty much bondo, sanded, primed and painted when put together... some of the streaks are infact very light sanding marks. I don't think I can get rid of them completely. Not sure how to do that.

Thanks Seth!!! Good tip. That did work well. The light sanding marks do bother me a bit. My only option to get rig of them completely would be well... re-prime and not sand.

Lesson learned!!!!