Playing Your Part

Elegance

Hi guys,

Im sure you all aware that im new to the TD world but I want to portray the role of a TD as best I can when out trooping.

So how you act when on duty? Are there any tips you could share that you use like stopping and searching people ect ect, things that work well and those that dont.

It would be really helpfull to me for sure.

thanks

Neil

Well being in the UKG mate, you will find a mix of styles. Some people from my experience dont interact enough with the public, and some interact too much, (stuff like making people do press-ups and searching through bags is too much in my opinion).

I generally use the lines from the film as a TD. "Move Along" gets them every time. "How long have you had these droids?" is always good for interacting with families (point at the kids) and play along if someone tries the mind trick on you.

I always like to pick on mum's and nice looking young ladies, especially ones who are with their boyfriends, who want a photo and tell them "I knew they liked it dirty" but you have to be careful with that around some younger kids.

Just guage your audience. You can interact too much, and be in their face, but pick your time, let them take some photos and then tell them to "Move Along" that way everyone gets time with you. High 5s are a great ice breaker for kids, especially the ones who arent too sure about you.

Are you trooping Legoland? If so we'll have some great fun there.

Nick

Thanks Nick,

Yes I'll be at Legoland, im staying at Langley, like most of the UKG lol. Ive done a few troops and yeah seen some quite "forcefull" stuff by a few members which made me uncomfortable.