TrainWrecks 3D printed E-11 Power Cylinders and T-21 parts

TrainWreck

So I recently discovered that our local library has a maker space with two 3D printers. It's cheep and all I have to do is send them the files and they print them out. I currently am waiting on my first order and am about to send off some more things. I am creating this thread so I can share with you guys the process of this journey (I will also probably be cross posting this with FISD).

So the first thing I had to do was teach myself to 3D model. I started off with a web based program called tinkercad ( https://tinkercad.com/ ). It is a pretty intuitive program and has a good set of tutorials to get you started. It didn't have a whole lot of options with how you can manipulate the primitive objects though and round surfaces don't render smooth. So after a week of that I graduated myself to 123D Design, a program owned by the same company ( http://www.123dapp.com/design ).

After watching a few youtube tutorials on it I have been rock and or rolling for a couple weeks now.

First up is the magazine receiver plate for a Lewis Machine Gun (AKA the T-21 Light Repeating Blaster).

I started off with trying to make my own out of wood and plastic but it was just not working for me. But this is!

I based this off of PandaTrooper's Template (found here: http://www.whitearmor.net/forum/topic/10313-new-t-21-blaster-template/?p=130310&hl=blaster%20template&fromsearch=1#entry130310 ) and a lot of reference photos!

lewisplatefinal.jpg[/url]

receiverlettering.jpg[/url]

Now in order for the rear sight to work I am having it broken into parts that will print individually (plus the plate is too long for the printer so I have to print it in two pieces).

This is an exploded view of the plate to give you an idea of what it entails.

receiverplussight4.jpg[/url]

This is what I currently have submitted to be printed.