Another DLT-19 Build (Finished!)

So having placed myself on the 8-month waitlist for ATA armor, I've decided to build a gun in the meantime. As we all know with guns, bigger = better, so I opted for a DLT-19 scratch build. I have never done this before, but reading a few threads on here and at whitearmor inspired me to start. A huge thanks to gmrhodes13, as I'm following his build fairly closely.

Fair warning: I anticipate this build will take me several weeks/months, but I'll be sure to keep updating as I go. Also, Wall 'o Text inbound...

###

For starters, I got templates for the MG-34 here. This is the same resource that has been linked to in a few other threads, and it's a little more robust than the other template set I found from Blaster Builders. To get the templates to an appropriate scale, I loaded the picture file in GIMP, changed the ruler to inches, and took a few measurements. When I measured the total length of the gun at the image's default size, it was much longer than 48", so I rescaled the image until the gun length hit the magic 48" mark. If you're doing this now, load the image and go to Image > Scale Image and set the width to 89 inches. This will scale things appropriately. Use the measuring tool to double check dimensions.

Because the dimensions of the image are still huge, I did what gmrhodes did, and created a new image file that was 8.5" x 11". I then selected areas from the templates that would fit onto a standard sheet of paper, and printed them off section by section. After rough-assembling the pieces, I was almost ready to build.